Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 302

Thread: FreeArc 0.40 released

  1. #1
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    I've just released FreeArc 0.40. The changes are:

    Fixed errors:
    ----In freearc.addon (settings for Total Commander plugin). You should reimport new settings
    ----It was impossible to extract archives created with external compression (in -m5p..-max modes)
    Improved compression in -m5p..-max modes by adding "exe" filter to $iso/$precomp methods in arc.ini

    Download & other info: http://freearc.sourceforge.net/


    Plans for FreeArc 0.50 (scheduled for Feb 1):
    ----GUI archive manager, Explorer right-click support
    ----Smart selection of compression algorithm for each file depending on its contents
    ----Support for localizations
    ----SFX

  2. #2
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Old FreeArc-related threads:

    FreeArc is becoming more and more interesting...
    http://www.encode.su/forums/index.php?action=vthre ad&forum=1&topic=437

    FreeArc 0.40 pre-release version
    http://www.encode.su/forums/index.php?action=vthre ad&forum=1&topic=558

  3. #3
    Moderator

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tristan da Cunha
    Posts
    2,034
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks Bulat!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    > I've just released FreeArc 0.40. The changes are:

    It doesn't work

    Reason: Stupid OpenThread (post edited: was wrong "CreateThread" originally) API call which seems to exist in Vi$ta only

    Could you next time compile a more compatible version (still console of course), please ?

  5. #5
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VistaSucks
    Reason: Stupid "CreateThread" API call which seems to exist in Vi$ta only
    what OS are you used to test?

    according to http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682453( VS.85).aspx its supported since Win2000

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Bulat! Tried compressing a few sources with WinRar and then with FreeArc - rar took several seconds, while arc finished instantly and with better ratio Brilliant! BTW, have you considered releasing a pack including all compressors possibly needed for -max setting?

  7. #7
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox
    ar took several seconds, while arc finished instantly and with better ratio
    probably its just because input files was cached during RAR run


    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox
    BTW, have you considered releasing a pack including all compressors possibly needed for -max setting?
    imho, its illegal. russian docs includes URLs for them all. it would be good idea to also include them in arc.ini

  8. #8
    Moderator

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tristan da Cunha
    Posts
    2,034
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Works like a charm!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I wrote:

    > Reason: Stupid "CreateThread" API call which seems to exist in Vi$ta only

    SORRY for the confusion: it was OpenTread that is Vista-specific ... CreateThread is well compatible ("msdn2.macrosoft"... lies ... and confused me previously, I had a look there)

    7-ZIP works well using CreateThread only

    BTW: why do you import from WININET.DLL and WSOCK32.DLL ? Does an archiver need such stuff ?

    PS: PE header of FreeArc claims compatibility "4 - Win95 or Win NT 4"

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    FreeArc can download files from internet, i.e. to update archive

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    > FreeArc can download files from internet, i.e. to update archive

    Thanks for crucial hint ... OTOH I still would prefer an archiver focusing on archiving and not too many unrelated activities ... less bloat and more compatibility ... otherwise all the bloated archivers bring each other the work (compress the bloat) that wouldn't exist otherwise

    PS: "m$dn2.macro$oft"... even claims ExitProcess to be exclusive for Vi$ta and similar ... in the past it reportedly was supported in Win95 also http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682658( VS.85,printer).aspx

  12. #12
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    thanks Bulat!
    Happy New Year

    Best regards!

  13. #13
    Programmer giorgiotani's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Bulat, congratulations for the 0.40 release!

  14. #14
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VistaSucks
    OTOH I still would prefer an archiver focusing on archiving and not too many unrelated activities
    something like tar?

    Quote Originally Posted by VistaSucks
    why do you import from WININET.DLL and WSOCK32.DLL ?
    read Changes.txt

  15. #15
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    i've added plans for next FreeArc version to the topic head

  16. #16
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    so you did read my mind!
    Or have written down my wishes...?
    How will you solve the problem of different OS-GUI? GTK? QT?

    Best regards!

  17. #17
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Vacon
    i just summarized the most common ones

    now i use gtk2hs which works with both linux and windows. you probably seen preliminary linux version published in old thread

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Minor niggle:

    As an option Freearc has:
    -lcN --LimitCompMem=N limit memory usage for compression to N bytes

    If i use the option -lc536870912 to limit it to use 512mb it hangs on the halflife test set at 22.4% on my machine.

    arc a -mx -lc536870912 "-di -di+$#" -r ..HL-mx-512b *.*
    Started: 0.00 secs
    Found 1945 files, 0 archives: 0.09 secs
    Sorted 1945 files: 0.22 secs
    Joined filelists: 0.22 secs
    Compressing 128 files of 320.223 bytes: 0.28 secs
    Using tempfile+dict:314kb:80%:l8192:m400:s100+tempfile+l zp:314kb:92%:225:h19:d
    1mb+tempfile+ppmd:20:768mb: 0.28 secs
    Memory for compression 768mb, decompression 768mb: 0.2 1.0%
    Solid block compression results (0.094 seconds): 0.44 secs
    tempfile: 320.223 bytes in 0.000 seconds: 0.44 secs
    dict:314kb:80%:l8192:m400:s100: 246.623 bytes in 0.000 seconds: 0.44 secs
    tempfile: 246.623 bytes in 0.000 seconds: 0.44 secs
    lzp:314kb:92%:225:h19:d1mb: 246.627 bytes in 0.016 seconds: 0.44 secs
    tempfile: 246.627 bytes in 0.000 seconds: 0.44 secs
    ppmd:20:768mb: 44.402 bytes in 0.078 seconds: 0.44 secs
    Compressing 1.812 files of 129.023.490 bytes: 0.44 secs
    Using tempfile+exe+tempfile+rep:124mb+tempfile+delta+tem pfile+lzma:128mb:max:b
    t4:128: 0.44 secs
    Memory for compression 1gb, decompression 128mb: 0.4 22.4%

    You actually need to add a "b" to the end of that switch for it to work ie -lc536870912b

    This is just a minor issue, but the info from the arc.exe if executed without any options should be updated, it may even be worth talking in Mb's as opposed to Bytes as that'll be easier for the average user to understand. In the html documention can be the more detailed options available for that switch as currently it doesn't mention that you can specify the size in Bytes.

  19. #19
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Intrinsic
    it may even be worth talking in Mbs as opposed to Bytes
    actually it takes. at some moment ive redesigned program to take in all memory-related options by default in mbs (and its mentioned in 0.40 docs). moreover, for all such options you can explicitly specify unit used: -lc512m, -md64k and so on

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    For those of you who use the wonderful Directory Opus(i hate using a windows machine without it myself) i've created a little reg file which will add various options to the right mouse button context menu.

    Now when you right click on a directory you have 2 new options, Freearc: Create Archive MX and Freearc: Create Archive MAX
    Those should be pretty self-explanatory what they do, and the archive created will be placed in the directory which you clicked on. The archives will be given the name of the directory selected when you right clicked on it, but i also add to the filename either -mx or -max depending on which option you chose, this is for my own test purposes and you can remove easily, if unsure how just ask.
    Both these options recurse into subdirectories.

    And when you right click an .arc file you have 3 options.
    Freearc: Extract to (this will create a directory based on the archive name and then extract the files into it.
    Freearc: Extract Here (this will extract the archive contents to the current directory)
    Freearc: List Contents (this will list the contents of the archive)

    It can be found here:
    http://www.zenadsl5706.zen.co.uk/Freearc-DOpus.reg

    If anyone wants i can create an option that will ask for the compression level you want to use instead of only having mx and max options. This file was created for Directory Open 8 + XP, unknown if it works with version 9 or not or with vista.

    Just make sure you have the location of arc.exe in your Path environment variable.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    > read Changes.txt

    OK ...

    When we work with archive, only the data required for actual operation will be
    downloaded. This means that you may work quickly even with huge archives.
    Please note that servers without RESUME functionality are not supported at all
    Funny

    > something like tar?

    NO, with compression, something like 7-ZIP

    Still, it would be cool if it didnt attempt to OpenThread and loaded the WININET.DLL and WSOCK32.DLL with LoadLibrary only when needed

  22. #22
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by VistaSucks
    Still, it would be cool if it didnt attempt to OpenThread and loaded the WININET.DLL and WSOCK32.DLL with LoadLibrary only when needed
    this will need more time to implement and i dont know which problems this creates for you

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    From the 7-Zip forum:

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkanosis
    Hi Bulat,

    Its nice to see FreeArc publicly released

    However, Im experiencing some problems when trying to use it with the
    -mx option, so I cant have a good idea of what its really able to do
    for me.

    When I try to compress my full Firefox directory, it fails with an
    uncaught exception:
    > This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
    > Please contact the applications support team for more information.

    Same when trying to compress the original paq8o8.cpp

    (Im using a Core2Quad with 3Gib RAM, under WinXP 32bits)

    Without the -mx option, it works well, but I always managed to get a
    better compression ratio with 7-Zip (with some tweaks, and I did not
    compress wavs or bmps).
    With the default configuration for both programs, FreeArc performs at
    least as well as 7-Zip.

    I didnt pay attention to compression times.

    Regards
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    this problem was in pre-release 4 version, hopefully fixed now. please
    try release and report the problem if the fix doesnt work for you

    and, if possible, write at
    http://www.encode.su/forums/index.php?action=vthre ad&forum=1&topic=599
    - now its used as official support forum for FreeArc
    No, sorry, I was using the release version (built on January 1st).
    Ill try to compress the same files on another computer to see if Ive
    the same problem.
    Jérémie

  24. #24
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Arkanosis
    please give us program output with "-di -di+$" options added

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    Arkanosis
    please give us program output with "-di -di+$" options added
    I get the following when trying to compress paq8o8.cpp:
    <div class=""jscript""><pre>ARC 0.40 Creating archive: test.
    arc using exe+rep:1gb+delta+tempfile+lzma:
    128mb:max:bt4:128, &#036;obj => rep:1gb
    +delta+tempfile+lzma:128mb:max:bt4{ :
    }128, &#036;text => dict:128mb:80%:l8192{ :
    }m400:s100+lzp:128mb:92%:225:
    h24:d1mb+ppmd:24:1536mb, &#036;wav => tta,
    &#036;bmp => mm+grzip:8mb:m1:l:a
    Memory for compression 2gb, decompression 2gb, ca
    che 1mb
    Started: 0.00 secs
    Found 1 files, 0 archives: 0.00 secs
    Sorted 1 files: 0.00 secs
    Joined filelists: 0.00 secs
    Compressing 1 file, 142.636 bytes. Processed 0%

    Compressing 1 file of 142.636 bytes: 0.00 sec
    s
    Using dict:140kb:80%:l8192:m400
    :s100+lzp:140kb:92%:225:h18{ :
    }d1mb+ppmd:24:1536mb: 0.00 secs
    Memory for compression 2gb, decompression 2gb{
    : } 0.00 secs[/code]


    Well, I suppose its an uncaught bad_alloc, since 7-Zip is not able to allocate 1536MiB for PPMdH.
    For information, ive the WinXP "/3GB" switch enabled, but not "/PAE".
    Jérémie

  26. #26
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    the FIRST gui archiver shell for FreeArc: http://flashmobile.ru/arc/eng/

    it's still very early version, but afaik drag-n-drop already works in both directions

  27. #27
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Arkanosis
    Well, I suppose its an uncaught bad_alloc, since 7-Zip is not able to allocate 1536MiB for PPMdH.
    can you please try the same with prerelease-3 version?

    pre4 has changes to allow it use more than 2gb of memory but these changes was probably not actually tested by anyone having enough RAM

  28. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Everything works fine with pre-3:
    Code:
    ARC 0.40 prerelase-3 Updating archiv 
    e: test.arc using exe+rep:1gb+delta+tempfi 
    le+lzma:128mb:max:bt4:128, &#036;obj => 
     rep:1gb+delta+tempfile+lzma:128mb:max 
    :bt4:128, &#036;text => dict:128mb:80%{ 
     : }l8192:m400:s100+lzp:128mb:92%{ 
     : }225:h24:d1mb+ppmd:24:1536mb, &#036; 
    wav => tta, &#036;bmp => mm+grzip:8mb:m1:l{ 
     : }a 
    Memory for compression 2gb, decompression 2gb, ca 
    che 1mb 
    Started: 0.00 secs 
    Found 1 files, 0 archives: 0.00 secs 
      Decoding directory: 0.00 secs 
      Directory decoded: 0.00 secs 
      Directory built: 0.00 secs 
    Sorted 1 files: 0.00 secs 
    Joined filelists: 0.00 secs 
    Compressing 1 file, 142.636 bytes. Processed   0% 
     
    Compressing 1 file of 142.636 bytes: 0.02 sec 
    s 
      Using dict:140kb:80%:l8192:m400 
    :s100+lzp:140kb:92%:225:h18{ : 
     }d1mb+ppmd:24:1536mb: 0.02 secs 
      Memory for compression 2gb, decompression 2gb{  
    : } 0.02 secs  0% 
      Solid block compression times 0.000+0.000+0.031 
    : 0.05 secs 
     
      Writing directory: 0.05 secs 
      Found 1 directory names: 0.05 secs 
      Directory written: 0.05 secs 
    Compressed 1 file, 142.636 => 37.550 bytes. Ratio 
     26.3% 
    Compression time 0.03 secs, speed 4.564 kb/s. Tot 
    al 0.06 secs 
    All OK

    PPMd is still in 1536MiB mode, but this time without any problem, which is strange... Maybe 7-Zip tries to allocate the whole block at the beginning.

    Btw:

    Original: 142,636 bytes
    FreeArc pre-3, mx: 37,833 bytes
    7-Zip 4.57, PPMdH 1024MiB: 37,781 bytes

    The difference might come from the archive overhead.
    Jérémie

  29. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey Bulat,

    first of all - congratulations, FreeArc is great tool and has a lot of potential!

    I'm currently playing around with compressing .iso files.

    Is there a way for selective (external) compression of files WITHIN .iso files?

    For example, exclude some files from compression or use DURILCA for &#036;exe files? (I mean without manually extracting the ISO file.)

    Keep up the good work!

  30. #30
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,507
    Thanks
    742
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Arkanosis
    The difference might come from the archive overhead.
    of course. freearc has much larger constant overhead than any other archiver i know. it shows best results on large volumes of data

    Quote Originally Posted by MrC
    Is there a way for selective (external) compression of files WITHIN .iso files?
    no. it needs segmentation and may be i will work on it in Feb. or maybe later. at some time it definitely will be implemented

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkanosis
    Everything works fine with pre-3:
    please try http://www.haskell.org/bz/arc-fixed.7z - its 0.40 version with error hopefully fixed

    btw, can you try 64-bit Vista?

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FreeArc
    By Bulat Ziganshin in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 3160
    Last Post: 26th September 2019, 20:51
  2. FreeArc and Inno Setup script
    By mondragon in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 31st March 2015, 21:13
  3. FreeArc is becoming more and more interesting...
    By Vacon in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 9th December 2007, 21:41
  4. FreeArc 0.40 preview
    By Bulat Ziganshin in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17th August 2007, 10:28
  5. FreeArc GUI - how it should look&feel?
    By Bulat Ziganshin in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 20th July 2007, 18:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •