Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 294

Thread: Squeeze Chart 2007

  1. #61
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    I am very curious about TTA in FreeARC
    Will it also detect waveforms within the sound modules (.s3m, .mod..)?

  2. #62
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    4,023
    Thanks
    415
    Thanked 416 Times in 158 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    i think it is just too slow for my users
    701774 -> 842468 (6.6640 bpc) in 14.45 sec (58.290 KB/sec)

    58 KB/sec is indeed too slow...

  3. #63
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    i just conducted fast test (you can do the same - http://www.haskell.org/bz/tta.rar includes both mmdet and tta compressor). results are: s3m/mod diles are easily detected as MM ones but compression is too bad. probably, by splitting them into MM part and the rest we can got better results, but just now it's menaningless to use TTA on them

    current freearc architecture doesn't allow to compress parts of file with different algorithms, i plan to make such incompatible change in archives' structure a few months later

  4. #64
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    Do you think I should also move the architecture columns to the right?
    I think architecture could be divided to windows/linux only (is vista different from xp?) and indicated by some windings letter (like smilie meaning open source)

  5. #65
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    knowing that compressor is 64bit or supports multi-threading is also important these days

  6. #66
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    bit depth and core number have its own separate columns, I mean that writing "Vista" is just wasting pixels...

  7. #67
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    afaik, some gui archivers support vista-specific features. just look at power archiver site

  8. #68
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    these changes are only gui oriented, that could be written somewhere into "notes" section... what could change testing under vista or under xp, when CCM comes to question?

  9. #69
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    it seems that this column is rather meanuingless, it contains vista for some newer cmdline archivers (like tornado), but not for other ones (like quad). ccm 1.20 is xp, while 1.21 is vista may be it is a testing platform?

  10. #70
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It indeed is! But what does this mean for common user? Nothing

    EDIT: When still showing what is WIN32 and what is Linux... and when not counting the GUI improvements in Vista...

  11. #71
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    other notes: charc is from russia, ha probably from japan (harry hirvola looks like japan name), exp is my program but is is just shell around bzip2 code. ain is from St-Petersburg, which was never english territory tornado file extension is .tor. last column seems badly broken ppmonstr sources aren't available (otherwise it was be included in my program )

    it will be also interesting to know cache size of your system. 1mb per core, i guess?

  12. #72
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    4,023
    Thanks
    415
    Thanked 416 Times in 158 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    harry hirvola looks like japan name
    Nope!
    Looks like from Finland!

    (Горячий Финский парень! )

  13. #73
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by encode
    Горячий Финский парень!
    Oh my god
    But youre right, found his mail, which is (was some time ago) hosted at some Finnish site

  14. #74
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    updated main.html is online now.
    It contains results for FreeARC using -m7 switch

  15. #75
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    thank you! can you please also delete results of previous testing? if you are interested in testing faster modes then -m4 (default) will be a good variant

  16. #76
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    thanks for pointing me some errors. I will fix the errors asap.

    Each of my cpu's has 1MB cache which can be easily read over
    at amd.com. The architecture column is just to inform readers about
    bit version, used processors and the OS I ran it on. I can change that XP/Vista info by writing Win or I caould combine bit depth and os into one column by writing "win32", "win64". But I wouldn't replace
    them by wingding symbols - there aren't some acceptable ones.
    And I decided to move achitecture to the right, but next update has to wait some days - at least a week because I am busy with real life.
    besides that the small testset benchmarks are faster and more information-packed. do we really need squeezechart anymore?

    Cheers

  17. #77
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    besides that the small testset benchmarks are faster and more information-packed. do we really need squeezechart anymore?
    Yes we do! Smaller benchmarks dont wield so much information as squeezechart, they cant be more information-packed than SC...

  18. #78
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    besides that the small testset benchmarks are faster and more information-packed
    where at your site are such benchmarks? or you mean that you want to do it instead of current tests?

    for me, testsets should be large enough in order to show freearcs advantages

  19. #79
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    4,023
    Thanks
    415
    Thanked 416 Times in 158 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    for me, testsets should be large enough in order to show freearcs advantages

  20. #80
    Moderator

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tristan da Cunha
    Posts
    2,034
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    besides that the small testset benchmarks are faster and more information-packed. do we really need squeezechart anymore?
    I think so!

  21. #81
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    how i can decode http://www.kellyindustries.com/downloads/48khz_ac3 .zip ?

    can you provide mirror of http://www.q-tuner.com/Aspie96.wav (which isn't available)?

  22. #82
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    use nero waveeditor for that; version 7 comes with support for
    multiple channel and high resolution waveforms (so called extented waveforms). Aspie96 is not available anymore, but I could send you the wavpack'ed variant by email if you want.
    Use wavewizard 0.54b afterwards to check wav header information.

  23. #83
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    Aspie96 is not available anymore, but I could send you the wavpacked
    and how large is it?

  24. #84
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    round about 31 MB; I may split it into 5 MB parts because most providers have attachment size limits.

    It's really cool - you're the first one that implements high res. and multiple channel audio - only one commerical competitor (WinZIP11).
    I hope some more authors follow this important step, because there are many audiophiles and music studio composers that use 24 or 32 bit at up to 384 khz. Cinemas use up to 16 channels, so 65000 is way too seldom.

  25. #85
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    WinZIP11
    Well... AFAIK it uses WavPack anyway

  26. #86
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox
    Well... AFAIK it uses WavPack anyway
    that seems to be true.
    IIRC there was athread on maximumcompression that lead to a forum where a screenshot from a beta-version was shown.
    In its title one could read ... WavPack...
    So you see how leaders are made...

    Best regards!

  27. #87
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    611
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    hydrogenaudio.org

  28. #88
    Tester
    Stephan Busch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    474
    Thanked 175 Times in 85 Posts
    Of course it is wavpack, but with David Bryant's allowance.
    I know the person that suggested Corel to use Wavpack.

  29. #89
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin
    and how large is it?
    it was dumbest question on the forum - all sizes are in your table

    too large for me, instead i will make such files using wave editors (yes, inet is very expensive and soft is very cheap here )

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    youre the first one that implements high res. and multiple channel audio
    i just use TTA library and afaik it doesnt have any problem with number of channels. sampling rate also doesnt have any effect on compression with only one exception - TTA codec makes one block for each 1 second of sound, and 1 second may include too many samples. i definitely know that TTA library doesnt work with 10^6 samples per block but i dont know lower bound. i suggested authors to somethat limit nu,ber of samples, but they dont have too much time now. in freearc each block contains just 128k samples, independent on sampling rate, and this fixes any problems (at least in my own tests )

  30. #90
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,593
    Thanks
    801
    Thanked 698 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Busch
    there are many audiophiles and music studio composers that use 24 or 32 bit at up to 384 khz. Cinemas use up to 16 channels, so 65000 is way too seldom.
    btw, can you help me by answering question at http://www.encode.su/forums/index.php?action=vthre ad&forum=1&topic=436 ?

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Squeeze Chart
    By Stephan Busch in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 501
    Last Post: 9th November 2018, 06:05
  2. Squeeze Chart 2006 - 02 April/13 May
    By encode in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th July 2006, 05:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •