Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Slow Visual 2010

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    863
    Thanks
    461
    Thanked 257 Times in 105 Posts

    Slow Visual 2010

    Hi

    I just had recently a try at the new Visual Studio 2010.
    I was expecting some kind of improvements over the pretty good 2008 version, whatever it could be (layout, compatibility, performance...)

    In fact, quite the contrary for the last bullet point.
    Binaries compiled with VS2010 are about 10% slower than VS2008. Quite a huge drop.

    Anyone having noticed such an effect ? or found a solution ?

    [Edit] : after a few more tests, it seems that multi-threaded programs, on the other end, benefit from VS2010. Looks like it was the emphasis of this build. But single-threaded programs seems nonetheless adversely affected.

    Regards
    Last edited by Cyan; 24th April 2010 at 15:41.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,474
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 121 Times in 95 Posts
    Maybe MS is pushing Intel Quad core sales

  3. #3
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    Might make sense to compare the option sets.
    Presuming that we're talking about results with GUI defaults.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    863
    Thanks
    461
    Thanked 257 Times in 105 Posts
    Projects are transferred from 2008 to 2010.
    Options are supposed to be rigorously equivalent.
    I checked that by hand too, and found no difference.

    While at it, i've also compiled an old program (LZP2), and in this example, there is no speed difference between 2008 and 2010.
    So i guess the -10% rule is not universal...

  5. #5
    Programmer Gribok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyan View Post
    Hi

    Anyone having noticed such an effect ? or found a solution ?
    On my test cases speed is slower by 5% if compile bsc by Visual Studio 2010 vs Visual Studio 2008. But Intel C++ is a speed king in any way.
    Enjoy coding, enjoy life!

  6. #6
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Using newest VCs, don't forget to add this line at the top of each source:
    Code:
    #define _CRT_DISABLE_PERFCRIT_LOCKS
    These days will switch myself to a newer Visual C++ 2010 Express...

    Shelwien, what do you think about this new MS VC release? How it works with the ICL?

  7. #7
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    I mostly use console compilers (and also libs from VS6 to reduce bloat),
    and I didn't test the new VS anyway, so dunno.
    Though its clear that VS doesn't affect the performance, if you use
    it with IntelC

    Btw, sometimes I make portable compiler rips like this:
    http://nishi.dreamhosters.com/IC_11-0-74.rar
    (used as Compiler/icl.bat 1.cpp; although might not work
    without the license file).

    This one is a bit old though, but I can make a new version
    if anybody's interested.
    Last edited by Shelwien; 16th May 2010 at 16:24.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    ICL 11.1 can't be integrated in VS 2010. So you can't compile projects. Of course it's not a big deal if you only use the console.
    During the installation of ICL, VS was not automatically detected. I had to manually edit some bat files with the correct paths.
    Then expect some not important warnings (ICL doesn't not understand some new MS extensions thingies in the VS2010 headers)
    The main issue I encountered is that VS2010 introduces new c++0x features not supported by ICL yet. The problem is that some (not all) VS2010 headers contains such things like rvalue reference. So ICL refuses to compile.

    Full VS2010 compatibility will be avalaible in ICL 12.x (no release date AFAIK)
    Last edited by M4ST3R; 16th May 2010 at 18:53.

  9. #9
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelwien View Post
    This one is a bit old though, but I can make a new version
    if anybody's interested.
    It would be very nice Shelwien

  10. #10
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    I'd like to encourage you too, Shelwien


    Best regards!

  11. #11
    Programmer osmanturan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mersin, Turkiye
    Posts
    651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Shelwien, you may count me as well
    BIT Archiver homepage: www.osmanturan.com

  12. #12
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    Well, what about this then:
    http://nishi.dreamhosters.com/IC_11-1-65.rar

  13. #13
    Programmer osmanturan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mersin, Turkiye
    Posts
    651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks!
    BIT Archiver homepage: www.osmanturan.com

  14. #14
    Member Fu Siyuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Mountain View, CA, US
    Posts
    176
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 17 Times in 2 Posts
    Very nice, Shelwien, Thanks!

  15. #15
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    Btw, this is the original version:
    http://registrationcenter-download.i...p_11.1.065.exe
    It should install using the lic-file from my rip.
    It also includes x64 compilers and "extras" like IPP.

  16. #16
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Hello everyone,

    thanks, Shelwien

    Best regards!

    Edit: No luck with Athlon 1700+
    Last edited by Vacon; 18th May 2010 at 00:21.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 60 Times in 37 Posts
    @Shelwien:

    thank you very much!

    wonderful !
    унікальний !
    класс !

    best regards!

  18. #18
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    @Vacon:
    If you mean paq8, you can make it more portable by
    replacing /QxN with /arch:ia32 /DNOASM in make_paq.bat
    ...or by looking up "iccpatch" and patching the compiled executables :)

  19. #19
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelwien View Post
    @Vacon:
    If you mean paq8, you can make it more portable by
    replacing /QxN with /arch:ia32 /DNOASM in make_paq.bat
    ...or by looking up "iccpatch" and patching the compiled executables
    First of all -> I knew that IC is a abriviation of "IntelCompiler" (or at least something similar). So it is no big surprise that there is something "strange" happening when running on a AMD
    But what the compiler gave me is a bit more than a little patching of a compiled executable. It simply says: "The processor has to support the Intel SSE2 commands. Exiting..." Just at this moment I'm not able to reproduce this message or attach a screenshot, because I'm running xPUD right now (side-note: not too bad -> Online in a minute and 5 seconds after pushing the power-switch).

    Best regards!

  20. #20
    Member Vacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hello everyone,

    so here is the screenshot.

    Best regards!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot.jpg 
Views:	283 
Size:	46.9 KB 
ID:	1303  

  21. #21
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,375
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 1,023 Times in 544 Posts
    Well, I guess now even their compiler is built with SSE2.
    And their weird cpu detection is well known already.
    So I guess, people with non-intel cpus would have to
    patch at least icl.exe and mcpcom.exe

    http://files.people.overclockers.ru/...r/iccpatch.rar
    http://lunatics.kwsn.net/index.php?m...id=50;mirror=1

  22. #22
    Member Raymond_NGhM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here,
    this is another ICC patch, forced to remove the "cripple AMD" function
    from their compiler, Written by Tronix (C) 2010,
    Based on Perl version (C) Copyright M. D Mackey 2004
    For more info. look at "Readme.html" & GUI Screenshot...

    it's good thing to improve speed during on load time for AMD's CPUs.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  23. #23
    Member VoLT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To now, Microsoft released localized-version VS2010 for the following language:
    • English
    • French
    • German
    • Italian
    • Japanese
    • Russian
    • Spanish

  24. #24
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Raymond_NGhM View Post
    Here,
    this is another ICC patch, forced to remove the "cripple AMD" function
    from their compiler, Written by Tronix (C) 2010,
    Based on Perl version (C) Copyright M. D Mackey 2004
    For more info. look at "Readme.html" & GUI Screenshot...

    it's good thing to improve speed during on load time for AMD's CPUs.
    Nice tool. Thanks for file Raymond! But I'm curious. I just passed fa_compress.dll file through all 4 patchers, including the script from Shelwien and compared them. Only 2 files are identical - from Tronix patcher and patcher from Mackey. Well, no surprise - Tronix is based on Mackey's source. But interesting thing... Only Shelwien's script removed the
    Code:
    GenuineIntel
    string from file at offset 0x53858. Don't know if its important or not. Also it would be nice to hear the opinion from somebody experinced - which patcher is most correct ? Test files are provided.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. JPEG Compression Test [April 2010]
    By Skymmer in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 7th February 2011, 23:30
  2. Help me!!! Visual Basic programmers needed
    By moisesmcardona in forum The Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th June 2009, 21:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •