View Poll Results: Do you have a 64-bit machine at home?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    18 66.67%
  • No

    9 33.33%
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Do you have a 64-bit machine at home?

  1. #1
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts

    Exclamation Do you have a 64-bit machine at home?

    Thinking about to release a BCM as 64-bit version only. So, do you have a 64-bit machine at home?

  2. #2
    Moderator

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Tristan da Cunha
    Posts
    2,034
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by encode View Post
    Thinking about to release a BCM as 64-bit version only. So, do you have a 64-bit machine at home?
    No, I don't personally know of anyone living near me that does.

  3. #3
    Tester
    Black_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    [CZE] Czechia
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Yes. Also, at worst you can have 64-bit system running as virtualised.
    I am... Black_Fox... my discontinued benchmark
    "No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time? I keep bumping into that silly quotation attributed to me that says 640K of memory is enough. There's never a citation; the quotation just floats like a rumor, repeated again and again." -- Bill Gates

  4. #4
    Member zody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes. I'm using Windows 7 x64 on a PC with 4gb RAM and Core2Duo

  5. #5
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    I also under Windows 7 (x64) - like it - the best windows so far! The thing is, x64 processors have nice advantage, speaking about 1-core performance - it is a native 64-bit integer math plus useful extra registers. In other words, x86 programs do not exploit a full processing potential. With BCM, the difference is notable, even if BCM is still single-core app - i.e. with no multi-threading.

  6. #6
    Member zody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    90
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yeah, Windows 7 is really the best Windows - running smooth and looking good
    x64 programs can be a lot faster than x86, especially (video)compression...
    An optimized, multithreaded x64 BCM would be crazy

  7. #7
    Member Surfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    oren
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post

    Post

    I have 64bit CPU, but x86 OS'es - WinXP SP3 Pro and Win7 x86 Pro.
    Many reasons: x64 is incompatible with many old software, drivers, hardware, games.
    Which answer in poll I need to choose ?

  8. #8
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by encode View Post
    Thinking about to release a BCM as 64-bit version only.
    Hmmm... strange. From my point of view you'll loose vast majority of target audience with such decision.

  9. #9
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Skymmer View Post
    Hmmm... strange. From my point of view you'll loose vast majority of target audience with such decision.
    Well, I see. Anyway, the main version will be x64 - too many users work under 64-bit Windows. Under my Core 2 Duo the BCM's compression speed is up to 8 MB/sec and it is much faster than any BCM released. At the same time the performance on book1 is 209,7xx bytes, and it's stun. Under my Core 2 Quad, the one core performance is about the same as with Core 2 Duo, maybe a little bit faster (both machines have about the same configuration - i.e. the same RAM speed, etc.) Of course, decompression is faster than compression; new BCM even more asymmetric than ever - the UNBWT part was completely rewritten and optimized. But the main thing is a brand new and extremely optimized CM...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 60 Times in 37 Posts
    I am using at home Windows 7 x64
    on a Netbook with 2gb RAM (DELL Inspiron)

    www.quicklz.com
    ---
    QuickLZ C 1.5.0 b2 22-Sep-2009
    13 - 28% faster on 64 bit systems
    ---
    if i understand good
    you will release a x86-version for 32-bit-systems too
    and the format of the compressed file will be the same?

  11. #11
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joerg View Post
    if i understand good
    you will release a x86-version for 32-bit-systems too
    and the format of the compressed file will be the same?
    Yep!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    863
    Thanks
    460
    Thanked 257 Times in 105 Posts
    Processor is 64-bit capable but host OS is 32 bits and i plan to keep it that way for quite some time.
    Very recently, (another) one of my friends tried (again) the x64 way, lured by the improved RAM capabilities, but he came back from it, after repeated driver and software issues. History repeating....
    Time is still not right for mass x64 transition

  13. #13
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,503
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    btw, look at http://freearc.org/Statistics.aspx

    there is no direct measurement of bitness, but first table says enough: about 10% of my users use 64-bit windows (or some Linux)

  14. #14
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 779 Times in 486 Posts
    64 bit hardware (2 GHz T3200 dual core, 3 GB on a Gateway laptop), but 32 bit OS (Vista). I should install dual boot Linux to use all the hardware, but I'm lazy

  15. #15
    Member Surfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    oren
    Posts
    203
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    btw, look at http://freearc.org/Statistics.aspx

    there is no direct measurement of bitness, but first table says enough: about 10% of my users use 64-bit windows (or some Linux)
    Why do you think so ?
    For example, WinXP 32bit can use up to 3.75(sometimes) or 3.5 Gb, how your stats rounding (округляется, не знаю как по английски ) ?

  16. #16
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,503
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 665 Times in 359 Posts
    first - it's not rounded, otherwise we will never see 2600 mb there. second - number of users using 3.75gb will be even less than users with /3gb, that is anyway less than 1%. third, yoy can duble check from "largest memory block" table: 4gb means unix, 2gb means win64

  17. #17
    Member m^2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ślůnsk, PL
    Posts
    1,611
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 65 Times in 47 Posts
    Yes, I have, but I intend to go back to XP32 because of compatibility issues.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    873
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 106 Times in 84 Posts
    Yes

    I'm using Windows XP 64.

    Without 64bit there would be no way to use 7-zip with 1gb dictionary
    That why i have 12gb ram.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox View Post
    Yes. Also, at worst you can have 64-bit system running as virtualised.
    On 32-bit OS? Yes (e.g. QEMU) but very very slow. I can't remember if VirtualBox supports this or not as I never tried.

    BTW, yes my laptop is 64-bit, but I run 32-bit Windows (and "only" have 1 GB of RAM).

    64-bit does have to use all new drivers, and that's a big annoyance. Also the lack of 16-bit support may be trivial to some, but it's another pain for others of us. And 64-bit isn't guaranteed to be faster anyways, and it wastes more RAM itself (larger pointers). More, bigger registers doesn't matter as much in speed due to all the years of cpu optimizations they've done. It might be easier to use in some instances, but it's not the only way of doing things.

    Quote Originally Posted by SvenBent
    Without 64bit there would be no way to use 7-zip with 1gb dictionary
    That why i have 12gb ram.
    PAE, anyone? Guess not.

    http://www.geoffchappell.com/viewer....nse/memory.htm

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
    Yes,

    Purchased a new laptop (HP Pavilion dv7) on friday and came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit and 4GB of RAM

  21. #21
    Tester
    Black_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    [CZE] Czechia
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rugxulo View Post
    This is extremely interesting article, but still, there is no completely painless solution yet.
    I am... Black_Fox... my discontinued benchmark
    "No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time? I keep bumping into that silly quotation attributed to me that says 640K of memory is enough. There's never a citation; the quotation just floats like a rumor, repeated again and again." -- Bill Gates

  22. #22
    Member Fallon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Europe - The Netherlands
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

    Post

    I am on a 64bit PC, 4GB ram, 32bits windows. In 2010 a new system, Windows 7 and 64bit seems a logical combination.

    Earlier in 2009, I was about to buy a top system, when I stumbled across almost a steal that's in use now. That's how it goes. There are always reasons to postpone buying. Usb 3.0, static state drives, the reasons change. If you know that you can, you may not rush to the shop today.
    A system for 24/7 use, should use less energy than the best out there, I guess.

    I am using bcm for fun now and then. I am just patient enough to paste a command when I have time.

    In the future, an archiver that can make a speed difference with multi-cores (16, 32, etc.), could be popular for large file archiving.

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Depends where

    Most of my computers are now 64 bits.
    I still have a 32 bits computer but I only use it to test FreeArc's GUI
    At school, most computers are still 32 bits (apart from Alpha, Sparc... that are not very suitable for data compression anyway)

    At home:
    • Core2Quad + 8 Gib + ArchLinux x86-64
    • Core2Duo + 4 Gib + KubuntuLinux x86-64
    • Athlon + 512 Mib + Windows XP 32 bits

    At work:
    • Core2Quad + 4 Gib + GentooLinux x86-64

    At school:
    • Pentium 4 HT + 2 Gib + DebianLinux x86
    • Pentium 4 HT + 2 Gib + FreeBSD x86

Similar Threads

  1. Poor compression of bit-version of PPM
    By Stefan in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 17:58
  2. Bit guessing game
    By Shelwien in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 24th November 2009, 02:22
  3. BIT Archiver
    By osmanturan in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 137
    Last Post: 16th January 2009, 20:19
  4. RINGS Fast Bit Compressor.
    By Nania Francesco in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 26th April 2008, 22:58
  5. Bit Archive Format
    By osmanturan in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 29th December 2007, 00:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •