Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Timer 3.01 bug

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Timer 3.01 bug

    Okay, I'll admit, I haven't tried all the billions of timer utils out there. But I did find it confusing why testing one app wasn't producing the correct results. It seems that Igor's Timer 3.01 looks in the %PATH% before the current dir! Very non-standard, so naive people like me, beware!

  2. #2
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    That's strange. Are you sure ? I made a little test for it with 3.01 and 8.00. I have latest FreeARC in PATH and some old one in D:\Test3 folder. First I started Timer Arc with Timer presented in D:\Test3 folder and then with Timer being copied to SYSTEM32 folder. In both cases it started the ARC from current dir, not from the PATH.
    I'm also looked into the Timer 3.01 and 8.00 in HEX and found nothing related to PATH. Same for the v8.00 source code.
    Last edited by Skymmer; 27th May 2009 at 10:16.

  3. #3
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Yep, timer runs a program from PATH. Say I have bcm.exe in C:\WINDOWS, and my current path at console is ...\bcm\Release\ with bcm.exe. Running timer will execute the BCM copy that placed at C:\WINDOWS not at the current location. Not sure that it is a bug...


  4. #4
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    I don't know what happens with my or your system but I just repeated encode's scenario and file from current directory had a higher priority for me. I even tried to execute timer from current dir or from dir added to %PATH% and tried 3.01 and 8.00 - same situation. But I'm happy with it

  5. #5
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Try to place timer.exe to C:\WINDOWS

  6. #6
    Tester
    Black_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    [CZE] Czechia
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    Isn't it just Windows' default behaviour when running an application, that it looks into folders this way? Why would Igor bother redefining it?
    I am... Black_Fox... my discontinued benchmark
    "No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time? I keep bumping into that silly quotation attributed to me that says 640K of memory is enough. There's never a citation; the quotation just floats like a rumor, repeated again and again." -- Bill Gates

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox View Post
    Isn't it just Windows' default behaviour when running an application, that it looks into folders this way? Why would Igor bother redefining it?
    I don't know which APIs have what styles, but it's not the traditional DOS way of doing things, at least.

  8. #8
    Tester
    Black_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    [CZE] Czechia
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    In case anyone is still interested, I found this during an totally irrelevant search, even though it's about DLLs, it can be somewhat useful:
    http://weblogs.asp.net/pwilson/archi...6/24/9214.aspx
    I am... Black_Fox... my discontinued benchmark
    "No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time? I keep bumping into that silly quotation attributed to me that says 640K of memory is enough. There's never a citation; the quotation just floats like a rumor, repeated again and again." -- Bill Gates

Similar Threads

  1. paq8pf(beta2) bug
    By Bulat Ziganshin in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th October 2009, 02:42
  2. PAQ8 C++ precedence bug (or "-Wparentheses is annoying")
    By Rugxulo in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 21st August 2009, 21:36
  3. Alternative timer
    By Bulat Ziganshin in forum The Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th July 2009, 04:16
  4. 4x4 bug?
    By m^2 in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th November 2008, 20:25
  5. A high precision timer
    By Matt Mahoney in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th January 2008, 04:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •