Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Disha Format - A different Text Compression Algorithm

Thanks

Disha Format - A different Text Compression Algorithm

Hello all,

I am a newcomer to this forum. I request you all to please treat me kindly.

So, this is my first post to this forum and I was directed to this place by a few people.

Now about the Compression Algorithm.

I have attached a paper I wrote about the algorithm in Pdf format to this Post. Kindly read the attachment.

The Algorithm is a Text Compression Algorithm that I came up with. Its features are that it is fast, simple, and provides a decent compression for a low Time/Overhead cost. It does not achieve the best possible compression but it does a good job.

I am looking for feedback on this algorithm. The feedback I am looking for is: Where can it be used? What are its possible applications? and for all possible comments on what you think about the algorithm.

Now since I am code-challenged, as in I am not a good programmer, I would also be interested to know if anyone is interested in collaborating with me on this project to make a code for this. Also, do you know any avenues which would be interested in publishing this paper? For example: Any journals or publications.

So, I welcome any and all feedback. I hope you find the paper interesting and I hope it makes you think a little bit.

Thank you all for reading.

Best Regards,
    Urntme.

P.S:
    Urntme - The username is read as "You aren't me."
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks
    Welcome, Urntme!

The attached document seems to flash an idea but does not go into details. Please elaborate how compression and decompression works with a small contrete example.

You seem to target only ASCII files with the English alphabet where there are English sentences.