Thread: TurboPFor Library usage

Thanks

TurboPFor Library usage

Newbie here. I have been looking to use TurboPFor and similar libraries for compression of floating point data. I'm not an expert by any means, so I would really appreciate detailed help with implementation. I got a pretty good start from browsing other posts on the forum, but I am getting stuck in my implementation.

The data is from a text file, so I wrote a parser that searches the text file and saves the values into a vector of floats. It does this by scanning each line and pushing back the value onto the vector. Is this the best way to format my data for the compressor? If not, how should I store them, and how would my implementation have to change?

I ran the icapp benchmark with 32 bit and TXT file flags, and it pointed me to p4nzzenc128v32 being the best encoder for compression ratio. How would I add code to my parser to just run this encoder(and the decoder)? I know that I would have to include the fp.h header file, but I am lost as far as what code to include for the p4nzzenc128v32 method implementation.

Thank you for any help!!

Baker

Thanks
    Thanked 1,309 Times in 745 Posts
    There was a similar thread: https://encode.su/threads/3429-Turbo...sion-questions

> I have been looking to use TurboPFor and similar libraries for compression
    > of floating point data. I'm not an expert by any means, so I would really
    > appreciate detailed help with implementation.

I think you're supposed to contact the author (powturbo@gmail.com or via github issues).

> Is this the best way to format my data for the compressor?

Probably not, if you need high speed; whatever works otherwise.

> If not, how should I store them, and how would my implementation have to change?

For high speed you'd need a low-level implementation - standard library is too slow.

> How would I add code to my parser to just run this encoder(and the decoder)?
    > I know that I would have to include the fp.h header file,