Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Great to be hear...... a newbie.

Thanks

Great to be hear...... a newbie.

Great to be here.

Long short story...... if Possible.
    I became interested in data compression trying to help a brilliant friend Kelly D. Crawford PH.D. over come his abuse of alchohol. Thinking that if he took me on as a student he could hang on long enough to get help. He was programmer for many well known companies. We tackled data compression for 8 long years. My job was to come up with out of the box ideas, he would code. I started from knowing nothing. Just as we were making a breakthrough, he passed from liver problems.

This was over a year ago, while looking over some of my notes and saw many things that I still think are possibilities, but I am not a programmer, aside from taking basic back in 1980.

Came here to learn and perhaps connect with a programmer who would like to take a look at some of the out of the box ideas for random data compression.....pseudo random data, in particular.

Jon
    Last edited by Hcodec; 13th July 2020 at 18:31. Reason: spelling

Thanks
    Welcome, welcome!

Sorry to hear your story.

Random data compression is an everyday topic in the encode.su forum. Look under the https://encode.su/forums/19-Random-Compression subforum.
    What do you mean by pseudo random data exactly? And especially why would you like to compress such data?

For me:
    All random data is pseudo random since all data were created by some process.

Thanks
    Thanks Gotty,

It was quite the journey! living in another country i was only able to do so much. I am trying to figure out what to do with what I learned.