Thread: Pure LZ compression with simple hash: what's a best ratio?

Thanks

Question Pure LZ compression with simple hash: what's a best ratio?

I'm working on pure LZ compression by my ideas, and I achieve great results. So I want to know: what's in this case best compression ratio of both enwik8 and silesia.tar? Let hash table has 512K cells. Thanks for your informative answers. ​ (Sorry, I studied German...)

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by lz77 View Post
    I'm working on pure LZ compression by my ideas, and I achieve great results. So I want to know: what's in this case best compression ratio of both enwik8 and silesia.tar? Let hash table has 512K cells. Thanks for your informative answers. ​ (Sorry, I studied German...)
    I developed simple command line pure LZ77 compressors too in 2000s (i.e., lz772/lz773, lzuf2, lzuf5). They're 90's C style code and my hash function is also simple. The compression programs must look original as they were intended for a beginner's book which became my data compression guide.

https://sites.google.com/site/datacompressionguide/lz77

Matt Mahoney's Large Text Compression Benchmark is of course where we can see first the best comp. ratio for enwik8.

-- Gerald

Thanks
    It is a non-convex likely np-hard problem to find best lz if an entropy coding is used for literals and lz symbols. For non-trivial examples it is likely too expensive to find the answer.

If a static (including uniform, i.e. no entropy coding) entropy code is used, it becomes relatively cheap to find the best lz by a shortest path algorithm.

Thanks
    I know about NP-hard problem, but I mean an existing program for compression ot the fly similar to LZ4 without hash chain.
    My result for today is 41.394% for enwik8, and 37.886% for silesia.tar. Lizard shows ~46.2% for enwik8 but compresses about 7 times slower than mine.