Thread: What encoding technique is this called?

Thanks

What encoding technique is this called?

Hi all, I'm relatively new to data compression and have been toying around with enwik8.

After noticing that the page ids (which are strongly structured as <id></id> tags) are sequential in nature with gaps due to - I assume - deletions of dead pages , I tried my hand at doing some delta encoding of the gaps, while knowing that in general I could assume at least a delta of 1 for each subsequent id.

Knowing that there are 12,347 total pages in enwik8 I did as follows:

The largest gap I found was 198, so in the first naive implementation I stored each delta in ceil(log(198,2),1) bits, which was 8, which took up 12,347 bytes. I'm sure no one is surprised by that.

12,347 bytes was much better than the 226,718 bytes that the natural text represented ("____<id>%i</id>\n").

I wondered how I could make that more efficient, so I tried getting a feel for the shape of the deltas, which looked like this:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.png 
Views:	35 
Size:	16.9 KB 
ID:	7123

As you can see the outliers like 198 and 178 massively inflated the bits required, so the next strategy was bit-packing everything but those two with only 5 bits, and then manually fixing those during the decoding process. Now the largest delta was only 25 (5 bits) and that took ceil((12,345 * 5) / 8, 1) = 7,716 bytes (+ a few more for the two repairs), which I thought was a neat improvement.

Next I thought: can I embed that idea directly in an unpacking structure that operates on interval steps?

I worked out the math and found that:

• 12,347 values as 1 bit: 0 for no additional delta, 1 for additional delta (max is 1)
    • 2,151 values from above had 1's. Most of them don't have any higher value, so I stored another 2,151 values as 1 bit: 0 - for done, 1 additional delta (max is 2)