Thread: Best decompression on embedded device

Thanks

Best decompression on embedded device

I'm relatively new to compression algorithms so my apologies in advance. I'm running on an older TI DSP (5402) and am running low on code space. We include a large image in our build that gets loaded to a daughter board and I want to compress that image pre-compiling. Then I'll include the decompressor in our code such that the image gets uncompressed as its loaded to the daughter board. So my considerations are:
    1. I don't care how fast the compressor is because it will only be done once and on a fast PC (so the code wont be included on my DSP)
    2. I need the decompressor as small as possible (obviously smaller than the amount it would save)
    3. Open source
    4. Decompression speed is not critical, but can't take forever either.

RLE will be huge win, but any additional savings would be great. I've checked source forge. Any suggestions on algorithms would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
    Dan

Thanks
    w/o numbers the question is meaningless

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by ikes View Post
    I'm relatively new to compression algorithms so my apologies in advance. I'm running on an older TI DSP (5402) and am running low on code space. We include a large image in our build that gets loaded to a daughter board and I want to compress that image pre-compiling. Then I'll include the decompressor in our code such that the image gets uncompressed as its loaded to the daughter board. So my considerations are:
    1. I don't care how fast the compressor is because it will only be done once and on a fast PC (so the code wont be included on my DSP)
    2. I need the decompressor as small as possible (obviously smaller than the amount it would save)
    3. Open source
    4. Decompression speed is not critical, but can't take forever either.