Thread: Need help with an algorithm for generating a list of integer sets

Thanks

Need help with an algorithm for generating a list of integer sets

(English is not my native language. Also I don’t have a university degree so please be a little patient if I made some obvious mistakes. (In the real world I am just a programmer and I never studied on an university.))

While fooling around with self-written Turing Tarpits, I found out that if you randomly generate a valid program certain patterns emerge more often than others.
    The most common patterns were:
    0000… (infinite length)
    1111… (infinite length)
    010101… (infinite length)
    101010… (infinite length)
    And so on.

I foolishly tried to construct a language that would create unique patterns for every unique program. Unsurprisingly I could not construct a language that has that ability.
    While searching on the internet if such program exist I found the binary lambda calculus. The current Wikipedia-page does not mention it but the one I read was mentioning that it was used for research on the minimum description length and Kolmogorov complexity when encoded using the de Bruijn index notation. But I was not happy with the results. Not only did BLC generate non-unique programs, the de Bruijn index seemed not exactly to match up with the idea of MDL. (It generates a lot of ‘programs’ that are longer than the output)

I wasn’t able to find better languages to approach Kolmogorov complexity than the BLC language. (I hope they do not exist or otherwise my work is for nothing.)
    Anyway… After a while I constructed a set of I think they are called axioms. The probably already exist, but I write them down anyway.
    1. Any piece of information can be expressed by a string of bits.
    2. Any outcome of an algorithm can be expressed by a string of bits.