Thread: UDA 0.303

Thanks

UDA 0.303

UDA 0.303.

Full disclosure: I have no formal programming or data compression education. I always liked UDA 0.301 and when I looked at the source code, it seemed fairly understandable...So I started playing around.

I released UDA 0.302 for benchmarking purposes only for the SqueezeChart. After seeing the improvement in compression ratio and some interest from members on this forum, I decided to keep playing around.

UDA 0.303, unlike all previous releases, has 3 version:

MAX
    This one is tuned for absolute maximum compression ratio-speed is not important. This version should have a better compression ratio than 0.302.

FAST
    The goal of this version is to achieve almost identical compression ratios as UDA 0.301 released by dwing almost 10 years ago by increasing the memory usage and making other modifications to the code.

VERYFAST
    This is the speed king! The goal was to achieve the fastest possible speeds while still keeping a good compression ratio. Some modifications to the source code would increase the speed by 200% but compression ratio would drop by 200% also-so that was unacceptable.

All versions require 2GB memory and are 32-bit Windows executables compiled with the fastest possible settings using Intel C++ 11.1 compiler.

Looking forward to seeing benchmark results and hearing opinions!

EDIT Sources have been added. Please note that after compiling, EDITBIN /LARGEADDRESSAWARE must be used or a memory error will occur.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by comp1; 1st October 2015 at 15:16.

2. Thanks (7):

Bulat Ziganshin (29th September 2015),Hacker (29th January 2017),lorents17 (29th September 2015),Minimum (29th September 2015),nikkho (30th September 2015),samsat1024 (3rd October 2015),SvenBent (3rd October 2015)

Thanks
    PAQ is GPL, so you should publish sources too. at least until you will start saying that you have developed everything from the scratch

4. Thanks: