Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Display Compression

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,057
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 72 Times in 56 Posts
    DVI sends basically the same signal as VGA, just in digital form. So there is plenty room to eliminate redundant pixels being sent over the wire when the image barely changes. There's a problem in trying to seize on that to reduce the bandwidth of the connection, though, because you may need the full bandwidth when the image does happen to be changing rapidly. Hopefully we won't see visibly degraded images when there is a lot of motion, like you typically do on digital TV.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    I only see this as useful in cases where you have > 4K resolution at 60Hz. DisplayPort 1.2 can do it with a single link(devices are another story). The resolution/fps increase needed to make this somewhat viable may mitigate the fact that it's lossy. That is, the resolution being so huge outweighs the fact that it's lossy.

    Still, interesting stuff. It uses YCgCo and no chroma subsampling.

  4. #4
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,257
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 795 Times in 488 Posts
    Looks interesting but the standard costs $350.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    448
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 101 Times in 61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mangix View Post
    I only see this as useful in cases where you have > 4K resolution at 60Hz.
    Actually, it is targetted to 8K displays. It is a lossy compression, though it is tested for visually lossless performance. Basically, this was a joint effort together with JPEG, except that VESA took the lead.

  6. #6
    Tester
    Black_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    [CZE] Czechia
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
    So the compression is only applied when running on >=8k and otherwise disabled?
    I am... Black_Fox... my discontinued benchmark
    "No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time? I keep bumping into that silly quotation attributed to me that says 640K of memory is enough. There's never a citation; the quotation just floats like a rumor, repeated again and again." -- Bill Gates

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Posts
    448
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 101 Times in 61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Black_Fox View Post
    So the compression is only applied when running on >=8k and otherwise disabled?
    I don't know. I've been only marginally involved with the VESA part of it. The major problem is really that current cable standards are not able to handle the bandwidth, which was why VESA approached JPEG.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •