Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to use fp8???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to use fp8???

    I know that fp8 is an amazing and fast compressor, but I don't know to set the compression ratio. Can somebody tell me how? Thank You!!!

  2. #2
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 779 Times in 486 Posts
    To compress: fp8 -8 archive files...
    To decompress: fp8 -d archive

    Option -8 uses the most memory for best compression. Lower numbers use less memory, compress worse. You need the same memory to decompress. All PAQ versions work similar. They are archivers that store the file names. Type with no arguments to see a help message.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank You for your reply! Now I know... ...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    while this topic is open, is it safe to compress stuff with fp8? is there a bigger chance to corrupt data than other archivers, or even just paq* themselves?

  5. #5
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 779 Times in 486 Posts
    I would use zpaq. The format is well documented and there is a public domain API and reference decoder. All of the paq versions including fp8 should be considered experimental. Not that I think there is anything wrong with the code (and it is open source), but there are over 160 incompatible versions. zpaq was designed to solve that by storing the decompression algorithm in the archive, so that future improvements don't break archive compatibility.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you. I'll use zpaq from now, since it appears powerful enough, and will use fp8 only when trying to save most bytes in decent times.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    GostCity
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I can not decompress the method in question using fp8, I get the error invalid decompression in fp8.
    Compress with ARC support using this configuration file *.ini:

    Code:
    [External compressor:fp8]
    packcmd   =  fp8 {-option} -8 $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp $$arcdatafile$$.tmp
    packedfile = $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp.fp8
    after a very good compression with the following method can not seem to decompress:
    Code:
    precomp+srep64+delta+exe2+fp8


    I tried this way but keeps on giving error:

    Code:
    [External compressor:fp8]
    packcmd   =  fp8 {-option} -8 $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp $$arcdatafile$$.tmp
    unpackcmd  = fp8 -d $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp $$arcdatafile$$.tmp  
    datafile   = $$arcdatafile$$.tmp.fp8
    packedfile = $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp.fp8

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    GostCity
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nobody with a solution, or to correct the problem, a compressor that you can not unpack, I think it is a useless algorithm.
    I tried all the settings, continues to always to give me the same error.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fp8.png 
Views:	130 
Size:	14.0 KB 
ID:	4086


    I'm hoping for some response, as opposed I give up...Thanks

  9. #9
    Member snowcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Vietnam
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Code:
    unpackcmd = fp8 -d $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp $$arcdatafile$$.tmp
    change to...

    Code:
    unpackcmd = fp8 -d $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp
    Worth a try

  10. Thanks:

    Eppesuig (11th February 2016)

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    GostCity
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks finally a response, works perfectly, to be precise with this configuration...
    Code:
    [External compressor:fp8]
    unpackcmd  = fp8 -d $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp.fp8
    datafile   = $$arcdatafile$$.tmp
    packedfile = $$arcpackedfile$$.tmp.fp8

Similar Threads

  1. FP8 (= Fast PAQ8)
    By Jan Ondrus in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 1st April 2019, 11:05

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •