Thread: Best compressor here?

Thanks

Question Best compressor here?

Hi, I'm a new guy here. I'm interested in data compression on PC since the last year (and as my nickname show, I like PAQ, thnks Mat Mahoney )

So, as I new here and I am not very good at English (I still learn it), also reading over thousands of tons of topics and posts would be very difficult and tiring, I would like to ask the mastermind - if it is not a problem - to tell me, which is the best comressor program here, posted anywhere there or 'outside'.
    I mean 'Best' JUST in compression ratio. Time and hardware is not a problem for me and not interests me - just the compression ratio, the saved space on my HDD.

The best which I've been using now is PAQ-PX-PRE (thanks Mat Mahoney again). But as I read, it was created in 2009, and now is 2012.

Thanks!

P.S.: Before somebody would ask - I mean a "homogen" compress under 'compression'. So I would like to compress several file-types and homogeneous files > mean in byte-code.
    Last edited by paqfan; 20th January 2012 at 23:15.

Thanks
    PAQ has the best compression ratios on general data. For text, try durilca.

The best compression ratios in the PAQ series generally come from paq8kx. I've uploaded the last version.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Thanks
    Thank U very much. I will check it and compare it with the PX-PRE one.

Is the PAQ serial still the best in compression ratio?

P.S.: Which version is that uploaded one (by U) from the kx-one? The last kx version which I've got is v7.
    Last edited by paqfan; 20th January 2012 at 22:24.

Thanks
    PAQ still has the best compression ratios as far as I know. I've benchmarked hundreds of programs and PAQ is almost always on top for ratios.

The version of paq8kx that I uploaded is a my own 32-bit build of v7.

Thanks
    You mean "my own" that you modifited the code?