Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Can't allocate memory required for (de)compression..help!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't allocate memory required for (de)compression..help!

    Hi everyone!
    Sorry if i shouldn't post this here.
    I realy don't know if i should be asking for help here, sorry to be bothering..but i'm a little desperate.
    I tried to install a game that after installation some files start to extract, to complete the installation, but i get this error :




    i've a core 2 Duo @ 3.00GHz with 2 GB ram. i installed the game on other machine i have and everything went well..the other machine is pentium 4 3.2GHz with 1 GB ram! i don't understand this .. can anyone help please?

  2. #2
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    Seems to be you have not enough memory available to decompress. Extract int on other machine and repack it with WinRAR, 7-Zip or PIM archiver.

  3. #3
    Administrator Shelwien's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kharkov, Ukraine
    Posts
    3,271
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 985 Times in 511 Posts
    Somehow that looks like Vista+2GB vs XP+1GB

  4. #4
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    That means FreeArc is buggy...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Duarte, try unarc. It should work.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    There are bunch of problems with memory management in Windows systems. Total amount of memory may not help here because program needs _continuous_ memory block. Memory is fragmented somehow so may be there is no such block there. You can try close all other programs or boot and decompress in safe mode.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to everyone for the replies!
    I've tried to decompress in safe mode but i get the same error..always rep:661mb
    I will try to find some way to defrag RAM, i really think that's the problem!
    if nothing else works i will try to repack everything!
    Thanks!
    Last edited by Duarte; 17th July 2008 at 06:07.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well..after some more tries the error doesn't go away..
    I tried with a few programs to defrag RAM, but nothing seems to work..RAM defrag, FreeRAM XP Pro and SpeedUpMyPC 3..

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    You can try also latest FreeArc, usually it's located here: http://www.haskell.org/bz/arc1.arc It's dated as 30-june. If this won't help, than there would be Bulat's turn

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    nimdamsk it gives me the same error!
    The difference is that it doesn't stop..total time just keeps going up and nothing is extracted..jebus

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duarte View Post
    nimdamsk it gives me the same error!
    The difference is that it doesn't stop..total time just keeps going up and nothing is extracted..jebus
    Duarte, did you test unarc? It's included in all FreeArc packages.
    Problem you described shows with 32-bit systems... do you have such?
    Ram defrag could not help - it does completely different thing.
    Last edited by IsName; 17th July 2008 at 09:02.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry IsName, i didn't pay the attention i should to your preveious post!
    The decompression with unarc went smooth as silk!
    I still don't understand this error, but it's working with unarc so i'm happy!
    Thanks IsName, and thanks everyone!
    You guys rock!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duarte View Post
    The decompression with unarc went smooth as silk!
    I still don't understand this error
    I try to explain this. Every program must be given some memory to work, thus physical memory has to be divided among programs(in fact, among processes). Every process receive 4 GB of memory space (on 32-bit windows, upper half is reserved for OS). Memory is broken into small pieces (afaik, 4 KB), called pages. Then some of these 4 KB pieces in process address space are mapped to physical memory(by OS). There's some extra pieces of code, usually doing some often required work(like working with files, with internet etc.) called DLLs. But DLLs are loaded into process space and therefore split it into parts. So, in your case, probably several DLLs are loaded(some shit like Kaspersky antivirus , leaving no 661 MB continous block. unarc has less features, and it uses only system DLLs which are really necessary. Such are usually loaded to the upper 1/8 of available 2 Gb. On 64-bit system, upper 2 GB (of 4) are not reserved,leaving solid 2 GB block for FreeArc... and this problem disappear.
    Please excuse me for any mistakes I made here... I'm not a programmer.

    @Bulat: do you plan to remove wininet.dll ?
    You really should put an advice to use unarc if decompression fails with this error. It shouldn't be hard.

  14. #14
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,982
    Thanks
    377
    Thanked 351 Times in 139 Posts
    I think, users should not care about all that stuff... Any program should work correctly!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Antwerp , country:Belgium , W.Europe
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    The memory requirements for packing/unpacking can be specified by the -lc/ld switches.
    If you pack a game or something else for somebody else, one should know this, it's clearly written in the manual.
    Moreover, the amount of memory for unpacking "REP" is 2x dict. size, 2 x 661 MB in this case. (also written in the manual).

    Can one not complain about not being able to unpack a game if I packed it on my "8 GB Core2 dual Quad/Vista64" system using the maximum memory requirements ?
    Algorithms like PPMD and most CM'ers are symmetric, so if I use these with max. memory settings on *my* system, I should know it might not unpack on someone else's system !!

    RTFM and use -ldxxx MB switches or don't use the -m8/-m9 setting when packing for someone else if you have a system with "much more than average" available memory.
    Freearc has also "special" switches for high mem. packing/low mem. unpacking (-m7x, -m8x and -m9x).

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    VNG-Porto, Portugal
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your explanation IsName!

  17. #17
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 664 Times in 358 Posts
    one note: REP unpacking memreqs should be 1x, but due to bug archives created with 0.40 and all alphas of 0.50 except for last one (June 23) are need up to 2x for decompression. so, repacking archives with last alpha would be useful

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    870
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 105 Times in 83 Posts
    So "rep -b1024" requires 2gb of memory for decompression?

  19. #19
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,498
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 664 Times in 358 Posts
    yes, it was a bug in compression algo so it makes archives which may need up to 2x for decompression (to be exact, this situation arrives when data are not comressible and no repeats was found for entrire 1x-sized chunk)

    i've fixed this in fa, but not yet released fixed version of standalone REP

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Antwerp , country:Belgium , W.Europe
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SvenBent View Post
    So "rep -b1024" requires 2gb of memory for decompression?
    I still wonder why you use the "stand-alone" REP ?
    REP is integrated in ARC.EXE/FREEARC.EXE and you can configure all the "one file" compressors to work with FreeArc :
    Code:
    arc a -mrep:100mb+lzma:max:64mb .....
    arc a -mexe+rep:200mb+delta+rzm ........
    It just seems a lot easier to me to use arc/freearc for this !
    The "stand-alone" REP is still interesting for some quick&dirty testing though..

Similar Threads

  1. Memory Limit?
    By Earl Colby Pottinger in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 11th April 2010, 03:59
  2. IBM Active Memory Expansion
    By m^2 in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2010, 00:15
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th April 2009, 02:39
  4. 2G+ memory blocks
    By Shelwien in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th March 2009, 02:13
  5. Data decompression on in-memory kernel
    By cregd in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th January 2009, 17:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •